More Bourbon

Last week Kevin declared his love for bourbon!  See here.  So for his birthday dinner I decided to incorporate bourbon into the meal.  Oh, did I mention I also threw him a surprise party at Brooklyn Brewery?? I know, World’s Greatest Girlfriend Ever!!!

After doing a little research on the internet, (I must stress “little” because I only checked out a few blogs I follow) I came across Macheesmo’s “Any Time Bourbon Glaze

It was fantastic! A nice simple recipe with a lot of flavor.  After I made the glaze, I pan-seared the salmon in a cast iron pan with the skin side up for about 3-4 mins.  Then I flipped the salmon over, topped it with the majority of the glaze (saving just a little for another coat) and shoved the pan into a 450 degree oven for about 5 mins.   (ohh, right you should probably preheat the oven if you want to use it – mine was already on because I baked a birthday cake).  The last thing I did was apply a little more glaze to the salmon and place it under the broiler until it crisped up.  The result was a nice crispy, flavorful outside, with a juicy flaky inside, it was rather delicious.

I will reuse this glaze often and maybe even substitute orange instead of lemon to alter the taste.  Thanks Macheesmo (Nick) for the fantastic recipe!!!

